Book Reviews

One of my favorite things is curling up on the couch with a good book. As a mother of two young children, I don't have as much uninterrupted reading time as I used to! But I still read as much as I can. If I come across something particularly fascinating or well-written, I will review it on this blog. Some of my book reviews are lengthy and detailed; others are short descriptions of what I'm currently reading.

Longer book reviews:
Boob Hell by Rebekah Curtis
Optimal Care in Childbirth by Henci Goer and Amy Romano
The Midwife of Hope River by Patricia Harman
Food, Squared (review of Peter Kaminsky's Culinary Intelligence)
Dominant Traits by Eric Freeze
The Gift of Giving Life: Rediscovering the Diving Nature of Pregnancy and Birth
Lady's Hands, Lion's Heart by Carol Leonard
The Wet Nurse's Tale by Eric Eisdorfer
Your Best Birth by Ricki Lake and Abby Epstein
Policing Pregnancy by Sheena Meredith
Breastfeeding With Comfort and Joy by Laura Keegan
Homebirth in the Hospital by Stacey Marie Kerr
Mama Knows Breast by Andi Silverman
Pushed by Jennifer Block

Annotated reading lists:
  • Midwife Memoirs from the UK
  • March 29, 2012: Choice: True Stories of Birth, Contraception, Infertility, Adoption, Single Parenthood, & Abortion; Bearing Right: How Conservatives Won the Abortion War; This I Believe: On Fatherhood; Simplicity Parenting; Hold On To Your Kids; The Green Hour; Last Child in the Woods; The Nature Principle; The Case Against Fluoride; SEAL Team Six; The Hunger Games; Book of Mormon Girl; Bound on Earth; Flunking Sainthood; Life Before Birth
  • January 8, 2012: Why I am an Abortion Doctor, This Common Secret, Dispatches From the Abortion Wars
  • September 27, 2011: A Discovery of Witches, The Witch's Daughter, The Proviso, Stay, Arms Wide Open
  • March 25, 2011: What Mothers Do, The Politics of Breastfeeding, The Year My Son and I Were Born, Free-Range Kids, Unbroken, Ship of Gold in the Deep Blue Sea, Stunned, Mother's Milk, A History of the Wife, Breasts, The Dance of the Dissident Daughter, The Price of Privilege, Urgent Message from Mother
  • February 20, 2011: Postpartum Reading Suggestions
  • October 9, 2010: Gang Leader for a Day, The War on Moms, Radical Homemakers, My Name is Mary Sutter, Women of Courage, Falling Angel, Burning Bright, The Lady and the Unicorn
  • March 22, 2010: The Botany of Desire, Better Than Well, Spirit and Flesh, Designing and Maintaining Your Edible Landscaping Naturally, Mother Wove the Morning, The New Ecological Home, Slow Food, Ten Stupid Things Couples Do To Mess Up Their Relationships, The Backyard Orchardist
  • December 21, 2009: Labor of Love, Monique and the Mango Rains, Baby Catcher and many other midwife memoirs, Spilled Milk, Unbuttoned, Giving Birth With Confidence, The American Way of Death
  • November 21, 2009: Birth Territory and Midwifery Guardianship, Proactive Support of Labor, Deliver Me From Pain, Birth Day, Breastfeeding Made Simple
  • September 2, 2009: Quiverfull, The Weaker Vessel, Georgiana, Shifting, Permission to Mother, The Food of Love, Who's Your Mama?
  • May 19, 2009: The Food of Love, Heloise and Abelard, Your Best Birth, Stiff, Musicophilia
  • March 17, 2009: Birth and Power, The Labor Progress Handbook, Square Foot Gardening, Blessingways, Mother Blessings, Playhouses You Can Build, The Urban Homestead
  • December 18, 2009: At the Breast, History of the Breast, Milk, Money, and Madness, Adventures in Tandem Nursing, Our Bodies, Ourselves: Pregnancy and Birth, Deliver This!, Essential Exercises for the Childbearing Year, The Doctors' Plague, Sisters on a Journey, Having Faith, The Omnivore's Dilemma, In Defense of Food, Marley & Me
  • May 2008: Perfect Madness: Motherhood in the Age of Anxiety, Boys Adrift, Bearing Meaning: The Language of Birth, If These Boobs Could Talk: A Little Humor to Pump Up the Breastfeeding Mom, The Blue Jay's Dance: A Birth Year.

Book descriptions, links to others' book reviews, and short excerpts:
Summer Reading on Maternal Care: Guest Post by Christine Morton
Stand and Deliver (the book)
Preparing for a natural hospital birth: book and video suggestions
Top birth and breastfeeding books
Simply Give Birth: Guest post by Heather Cushman-Dowdee
"Coop" Interview
Journey Into Motherhood by Sheri Menelli
Is Fat a Moral Failure?
Excerpts from Woman in Residence
Excerpts from Surfacing
Formative Words
Modern Childbirth: Failure to Progress
Separate and Unequal

If you'd like to recommend a book, send me an email at!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...